Skip to main content

Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs performs a variety of functions within the University of Missouri System. A primary function of the office is overseeing the review and approval of new degree program proposals and changes to existing programs. The office maintains relationships with the four UM System universities in Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla and St. Louis through routine communication and collaboration with the provosts of each institution, maintains professional development programs for faculty members and academic advisors, supports student affordability initiatives through Affordable & Open Educational Resources (A&OER), and more. 

Use the menu options below and the sidebar to the left to browse the various programs and resources available on our website.


Additional Information

Click on a header to expand the selection and uncover additional information.


The University of Missouri System includes four distinct Universities: the University of Missouri-Columbia (MU), the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T) and the University of Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL).



UM System Chief Academic Officers

A core function of the Office of Academic Affairs is maintaining positive working relationships with the chief academic officers--provosts--of the four universities. The UM System Academic Officers (UMAO) group consists of the provosts and their staff from each university, and meets on a regular basis to discuss outstanding issues, updates on degree program proposals, and progress on existing projects to the benefit of the entire UM community. Links to the four offices of the provosts can be found below.

Reviewed 2019-09-26